h1

Making Casein Paint: Cadmium Red

April 18, 2023

Back to making more paint, this time it’s Cadmium Red (medium shade.) I also wanted to test out an idea for filling my empty paint tubes using a funnel. I bought this large funnel at a local auto parts store, and trimmed off the top a bit to make it easier to fill, and cut off some of the bottom that would go inside the tube.

Now I started mulling up some cadmium red paint, and used the funnel to fill the tube. It seems to work well, making less of a mess than before, and easier to clean. I load the paint into the opening, and gently tap the tube down so it flows to the bottom.

Here’s the final result of a filled tube, all crimped and sealed and ready to use.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.