h1

New Drawing Begun: Mejia’s El Silencio

June 4, 2024

I’m starting to get back to my drawing board. This is based on a photo I saw posted to a sculpture group recently. It’s a work by Marco Tobon Mejia called “El Silencio.” I liked the pose she is in, so I thought it might make a nice drawing.

I started with a light pencil sketch to rough out the figure to the size paper I wanted on a sheet of newsprint. I then went over that with a black marker so I could see the lines better. The paper I’m transferring this to is a sheet of illustration board, 11 x 14″, that I had previously coated with thin layers of clay. I taped the newsprint to the side of this, and flipped it back and forth so I could see where the lines should be drawn. Ready to start drawing. Let’s see if I haven’t lost my touch with all this recent down time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.