h1

Drawing Started: Sharisse Sitting

April 21, 2024

I’ve started a new drawing using the clay coated paper scratchboard I made in the video I posted last time. This is from an photo of mine that I took of my friend, Sharisse, sitting on the floor of her apartment. The grey tone is a wash of diluted sumi ink. I lightly outlined the figure on the paper with a grey pastel pencil to get her placed the way I wanted, and used the box cutter blade to roughly lighten the brightest areas. I then scratched over that with a push pin. It’s still a little rough on the modeling of her figure, but I’ll refine that later as I move on to the blanket and background areas. I’ll make a last pass on the darks at the end; although, I rather like it without that right now. We’ll see what it looks like when I get to that point.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.