h1

Making Labels for My Paint Tubes

April 9, 2023

I’ve found it difficult to write on the paint tubes I’ve been filling, so I wanted to try and make up some labels that I could glue on the tubes. My first attempt was on the Phthalo Green tube. I figured out the size of the label (3.5 x 2.5″) and where the write on it, but after writing the name and then spraying the back of the paper with Krylon All-Purpose Spray Adhesive the solvent in the adhesive caused the ink to smear. So I needed to figure out a way to write on the paper after spraying the back. To do this I used wax paper which the adhesive would not stick to. I sprayed the back, placed it on wax paper, and then wrote the name. The result can been seen on the Indigo Blue label which did not smear, and looks much better. A paint swatch also sticks better on the paper than on the tube.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.