h1

Painting Started: Jan Sunning on the Grass

May 7, 2017

I’m ready to get the painting started. Before I transferred the large sketch, I paused to consider how best to continue. This will be a gouache painting on illustration board primed with a thin coat of spackle plaster mixed with acrylic medium.

I made the outline of the figure in charcoal to the bare board (unprimed,) and wondered if I should spray fixative on it as I planned or test out other options. The lines of the beach towel were drawn with a yellow pastel pencil that I darkened in the picture so you can see it better. One idea was to just paint over this with a thin layer of plaster and acrylic (as I tested out in my previous post,) or spray fixative on it and then prime it, or coat the charcoal lines with a thin coat of acrylic and prime it. With the primer on top, the gouache will not mix with the charcoal.

I made a quick test of those three options on a scrap piece of illustration board. The “X”s in the picture are charcoal marks not coated, so you can see how thin the plaster layer is.

The unfixed charcoal smeared a little, but was otherwise okay. The fixed marks (one coat of spray) looked the same, but no smearing. The wet acrylic medium turned the charcoal into a wash, so I ruled that out. I decided to just go ahead and add the thin plaster layer without fixing the charcoal, saving an extra step, and despite a little smearing, it looked okay. I’m finally ready to start painting.

Leave a Reply

