h1

Drawing Update 2: Guitar in the Park

January 10, 2017

guitarinpark04

Slowly plodding along on the drawing. This is the first time I’ve worked with Claybord in this manner. Before, I would cover an area in ink, and scrape away to the white. Here I’m using it more like a regular drawing, and it’s working, but very slowly.

guitarinpark04b

One effect I’m noticing is that because its a non-absorbent surface, when the wet lines of ink intersect the ink will flow across the area, sort of like the way watercolor stains. This causes the lines to get lighter in some places as the ink puddles. I then have to draw back over the area again, slowing things down. Also, I was hoping the undertone staining I had done with thin oil paint would not scratch away so easily. That’s forcing me to go back and forth with drawing, scratching, and then reapplying the tone. This new tone of oil color is thinned with mineral spirits so it won’t disturb the ink.

I’m not sure I’ll get this finished in time for entry into the art show I was planning to apply for at the end of the month, but I’ll keep at it anyway.

Leave a Reply

