h1

New Drawing Started: Guitar in the Park

January 2, 2017

guitarinpark01

I came across a new call for art from a local show that was having a theme of anything monochromatic, art with a value range of just one color. I have several finished drawings to pick from, but also thought I might try something new using paint. That’s how this picture got started.

guitarinpark02

Unfortunately, I didn’t like how it was turning out, so I wiped it all off to start over. That gave the surface (Ampersand Claybord) a nice sort of beige undertone. I chose the Claybord so I will be able to scratch down to the white if I want. I redrew the outlines in charcoal, and decided I would make it as a drawing using colored ink. I settled on my old bottle of Osmiroid, which is a reddish sepia color. I started roughing in some wash tones, and found if I mixed in a little of my casein medium it was a bit easier to control the layering. I’m still a little unsure how well this is going to go, but I guess we’ll find out soon enough. The size is 18 x 24 inches.

Leave a Reply

