h1

Making a Shipping Crate for a Painting

December 10, 2016

I’m taking a short break from the drawing to get my painting ready to ship next month for the show in Houston. First I want to show how I finished the backing of the frame.

afterdinner-framed2

I placed a sheet of 1/4″ black foamcore to fill the back opening, and to hold it in place I’m going to use these four pieces of veneer that I’ve cut into large triangles.

afterdinner-framed3

I spray painted them black, and used small screws to hold the backing in place. I also added the hanging wire. It’s now ready to pack.

afterdinner-framed4

My lightweight packing crate is made from styrofoam and 1/8″ Luann plywood. I got a few styrofoam corners at a local moving supply store. These are glued to a bottom plywood panel, and will suspend the frame inside the crate. I cut off a piece of another set of four corners to make “L” shapes that I glued to the top panel. This will fit tightly around the outside of the frame at the sides. I may add a large sheet of mat board to sit on the frame and keep any dust out. It’s important that no packing material ever touches the surface of the painting, especially any plastic or foam.

afterdinner-framed5

Here’s it all put together. I added some black heavy-duty tape to help hold the pieces together. The moving supply store had a box for pictures and mirrors that will be large enough, but I’ll need to glue some foamcore and styrofoam pieces to this to fill the inside of the box.

One comment

  1. […] added a few more modifications to my shipping crate that I posted a few days […]



Leave a Reply

