h1

Painting Final: A Distant Stare

September 3, 2016

distant-stare3

Final post of the new painting. After finishing the hands, I noticed that her face was too dark, so I reworked that area. I still need to touch up a few spots, and I think the green dress needs a little more modeling, but this is mostly done. (Gouache, 8.5 x 11″)

distant-stare3b

The Acrylic Ground for Pastel primer I used as a paint surface here worked well with the gouache. Even though I toned it with some acrylic gouache, it was still very absorbent, but that didn’t cause any problems. I would not hesitate using it again. It feels like Ampersand’s Claybord, but might be a little more absorbent.

Leave a Reply

