h1

Drawing Update: Angela with Shawl

June 24, 2016

I think I’m starting to figure this new drawing out.

angela_shawl3

I decided to use ink to tone the background, and went with cool gray Prismacolor layout markers to keep it as a drawn look instead of brushing on acrylic ink. I used a warm gray marker for her hair.

angela_shawl3b

This area I’m covering with a homemade block of black oil pastel. I’m also using a palette knife to smooth and scrape it down, and the wide tip of a carpenter’s pencil to get around the form of her profile. A Neocolor II black pastel also helps me get sharper lines.

Well, that was the easy part. Let’s see if I can keep it going.

Leave a Reply

