h1

Drawing Reworked: Portrait of Carol

October 12, 2015

carol-portrait201b

I’ve gone back to an older drawing I had finished earlier this year. She had been tacked to the wall where I’d given her some study, and decided the colors were too neutral to satisfy me now, so I’ve gone back and added a little more “umph” to the hues with brighter colors and contrasting values. All of this comes from pastel pencils.

carol-portrait201c

I think it’s an improvement, but I still have a little touching up to do. Something I’ve been giving thought to for awhile now is to try and bring the way I paint closer to the way I draw. I tend to approach them differently. Pastels and inks tend to force that relationship by their nature, at least in the way I chose to use them.

2 comments

  1. I love your art 🙂


    • Thank you!



Leave a Reply

