h1

Homemade Charcoal Oil Pastel

May 6, 2015

Following up on my last post, I’ve made another oil and wax pastel, but this time I added charcoal powder. Now I can combine this with a pencil drawing without having to add charcoal in a separate step.

oilpastel_charcoal1 oilpastel_charcoal2

That pile of charcoal powder is about 2 ounces. I melted some beeswax and added mineral oil as in my previous post, and mixed it in with the charcoal until I had a firm paste.

oilpastel_charcoal3 oilpastel_charcoal4
.
.
I then pressed the mixture into a square mold I made out of aluminum foil. After it cooled, I removed it from the foil, and drew a test area on some drawing paper. I could easily smear the charcoal with a rubber-tipped colour shaper tool; although, not very far, or scratch through it with a penknife.

4 comments

  1. so interesting, making your own art materials!


    • It makes sense when it’s more economical and not difficult. That includes supports and framing as well.


  2. […] area I’m covering with a homemade block of black oil pastel. I’m also using a palette knife to smooth and scrape it down, and the wide tip of a […]


  3. […] some of you who have been following my blog may know, I make my own oil pastels. Seeing these empty lip balm tubes you can probably see where my idea went, so I bought a few to […]



Leave a Reply

