h1

New Drawing Started: Sidewalk Sleeper

April 28, 2015

I’ve been playing around lately with a combination of wax and graphite. I made a post on the subject awhile back. This will be a drawing based on an old photo of mine showing a man asleep on a sidewalk. It’s a little hard to see in the image here since the outline was drawn on lightly. I’ll post some better photos for you later.

sidewalk_sleeper01

I first started by coating the drawing paper (16 x 20 inches) with a thin layer of wax. I’m using an oil pastel made by Sennelier (it’s that tube on the far right,) essentially a large oil pastel without any pigment (“Transparent Medium.”) This layer allows me to scrap down through the wax to the paper and lighten the graphite. I can continue layering more wax, more graphite, scrap it down in spots, and move back and forth to get an interesting texture. It should be a fun exercise.

Leave a Reply

