h1

Best in Show Award at the Imagine Exhibit!

March 1, 2015

Great news happened at last night’s opening of the Imagine Art Show: I won the “Best in Show” award! I know, right? I’m as surprised as you! This was for my painting, “Shakespeare At Dusk.”

bestinshow1

You may notice that it looks a little darker than my previous posts of the finished art. That isn’t due to the lighting at the show, but because a few months ago I had changed the painting to have a darker, greyer tone. It was a risky move, since it was a finished painting that came out looking okay at the time, but I felt something just wasn’t satisfying me. After letting it sit awhile I decided to go back and make it look more like the original scene that had inspired me. Here’s a sharper picture of the painting:

shakespdusk

I’m happier with the new version, and apparently it paid off. I stood next to the painting last night, speaking with people viewing the painting, and was happy to hear them understand exactly what I wanted them to feel.

I’m very grateful to the Round Rock Art Council for honoring my work with the award. If you get a chance to visit the show, please take the time.

Leave a Reply

