h1

New Painting Started: Violin Section

February 12, 2015

I’m starting a new painting on the gesso board I made a few days ago, 14 x 16″. It’s based on a few photos I made awhile back at a concert featuring some violinists.

violin_sec01

I first made a few sketches, and then cut and taped them together to fit on the board in composition that I liked. Next, I rubbed the back with a light shade of yellow orange pastel, and transferred the outlines to the board.

violin_sec02

I have a couple different ideas on how to begin. One is to just start in with paint, and the other is to lay in the values first with ink. I’ll have to sleep on that to decide which idea will win out.

Leave a Reply

