h1

New Painting Started: A Game of Checkers

November 15, 2014

I’ve started working on the painting that is based on the sketch I posted previously. I’m using the Permastone panel I made a few days ago as my surface, and will be painting this in gouache.

checkers01

Here I’ve toned the white panel with a thinned coat of sepia ink, which is a shellac based ink. I then transferred the drawing by covering the back of it with a light grey pastel, and then drawing it to the panel, leaving just outlines to guide me.

Next I will set the dark tones. I could do that with another layer of ink, but too much shellac could be a problem for the gouache, so I think that I’ll just start painting. I’m going to try not to get too tight and detailed on this – keeping it loose and sketchy.

Leave a Reply

