h1

More Permastone Panels

November 5, 2014

A couple years ago I published a post here about making a tile panel out of a sculpture casting material called “Permastone.” I wanted to try it again, this time making some larger panels to paint on.

permastone5A permastone5B

I found this plastic painting palette from Creative Mark that had an indentation in the center about 9 x 12.5 inches and an 1/8th of an inch deep. I decided to use this as my mold. I mixed up the Peramstone, and poured it in. After waiting about 30 minutes it had become like soft clay, so I scored around the edges with a knife to make it easy to remove. I also trimmed off half an inch to make it 9 x 12. I waited about another hour, and then tipped it over and it fell out nice and solid. It’s fragile being this thin, so I’ll glue a wood panel to back for extra support.

permastone6A permastone6B

Next I wanted to go to a larger size. For my mold I used a metal picture frame that was 16 x 20 inches. I placed a glass pane inside it, and flipped it face down. It took almost the whole 28 ounce bag of Permastone for a panel this size. I also made it slightly wetter so it would flow and level out more easily. It came out okay, but had a tendency to bend and I was afraid it might crack. Next time I might glue it to a wood panel before removing it from the frame. Any regular PVA glue works fine. These panels are very nice for oils, acrylics, or gouache.

permastone6C

Leave a Reply

