h1

Painting Update 3: Lake Salvador

September 24, 2014

I have a short update on the progress of my painting to show.

salvadorlake6

I wanted to try something a little different and use a palette knife. There’s not much thickness to the paint, which is important to avoid with gouache, but the knife gives a nice texture.

salvadorlake6B

I masked off the poles with tape, and brushed a very thin wash of light blue across the sky area. Next I scraped on a very thin coat of pure titanium white with the knife. I’ll get to the water area next using the same process.

2 comments

  1. These are beautiful, they have a serene feel to them


    • Thanks. That’s the sort of feeling I’m going for.



Leave a Reply

