h1

New Painting Started: A Walk in the Woods

June 22, 2014

walkwoods01

I’m starting a new painting. This will be based on a few photos I made not too long ago in some woods nearby the house. I added the two figures. This is hard charcoal on loose acrylic primed canvas, 16 x 20 inches.

fuchs_woods1 walkwoods_test

.
My inspiration for this is the dappled light through the trees of many of the late series of paintings by Bernie Fuchs. Here’s a cropped version of one of them on the left. It will require much thinner oil paint than I typically use, applied in glazed layers, but that’s the challenge. I made a few tests of my idea as well as some texture experiments. Should be interesting to see where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

