h1

Drawing Update 2: Watching Passing Clouds

May 3, 2014

Here’s an update on the charcoal drawing, showing just the area where I’ve been working.

passingclouds3

Starting the detail phase by working on the face forces me to go more slowly and carefully than usual, but I was anxious. I like how this is going so far.

charcoal_tools2
.
.
.
.
.
.
Here are the tools I’ve been using this time. Top to bottom: willow vine charcoal, charcoal pencil, small brush, and wooden knitting needle. I like using vine sticks since the length lets me get a softer touch. The pencil helps refine the drawing. The brush lets me smooth and lighten areas. The needle I use for keeping my drawing hand off the surface, like a mahl stick.

Leave a Reply

