h1

Painting Update: Roller Skate Tango

November 28, 2013

I managed to squeeze in a little more time on the new gouache painting. I still plan to lighten up the background, and the figures need some cleaning up.

rollertango05

One thing I noticed about this Wet Media film surface that I’m painting on is that the glossy shine can be seen contrasting with the matte painted areas when any unpainted spots show through (see image below.) To remedy this I’ve discovered that I can paint a thin layer of watercolor medium on the surface to keep the color showing through from the back, but it eliminates the glossy surface of the film. Next time I will plan to wipe on a thin layer over the whole thing before I start painting to avoid the touch-up time.

rollertango05B

Leave a Reply

