h1

James Montgomery Flagg’s “The Grandfathers of the Evolution”

June 13, 2013

I’ve been digging through the web for some time now collecting illustrations by the great artist, James Montgomery Flagg (among others,) and found this series of drawings by him that I think show him at his finest.

flagg-jm3_scribners07 flagg-jm6_scribners07

flagg-jm5_scribners07
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
They are illustrations for a single story printed in 1907 in Scribner’s Magazine written by Nelson Lloyd called “The Grandfathers of the Evolution.” The line work, layout, and characterizations are the best work by Flagg that I have seen so far. Enjoy.

flagg-jm7_scribners07 flagg-jm9_scribners07 flagg-jm10_scribners07

3 comments

  1. What can I say except thank you very much Mr Clemons for giving us the opportunity of viewing these great works. I am an artist myself and viewing these am filled with tons of inspiration. It is a pity artists like these get old and die. I wish I could live surrounded by half a dozen like these artists who could pull my ear when I go wrong with my work. Anyway thanks again; you are doing a lot of good to a lot of people.


    • You’re welcome. I wish it was as easy for us to be surrounded by great artists like Flagg once again. At least to the same degree as we see and hear those of other artists of his time; the singers, writers, and musicians. The visual artists are always short-changed.


  2. Thanks very much for answering and I am sorry I took so long to write back. Your are very right that visual artists are always short-changed. Worse in those days here in Malta comics and illustrated were regarded (and some artists here still do) as something inferior. Sometimes people who liked them were even made fun of. But anyhow I don’t care. I will always continue to enjoy them. Particularly I like the pen and ink drawings. Even when I was about ten years old I was always fascinated by them that is when I had access to view them. Thanks again my friend if you will permit to address you so. You are one of the people who have made my retirement days the best time of my life.



Leave a Reply

