h1

Converting Bookshelves Into a Table

September 30, 2012

As I continue to get the new studio room ready, I realized that it needs some extra shelving. I found bookshelves on sale at a local department store (Target,) so I bought a couple of them, and when I got them home I decided to turn them on their side to use as a work table as well as shelves for storage. Here you can see one of the two already assembled. It’s approximately 3.5′ x 2′ x 1′.

I screwed the two vertical shelves into the sides for more stability, and added two plywood shelves that I will later stain black. I plan to keep the center space open where I can put large raw material like drawing boards and panels. The other bookshelf will be modified the same way. I’ll place them back to back, and then probably attach a large wood panel on top to use as a work table.

Leave a Reply

