h1

New Drawing Started: Tanya’s Bamboo Curtain

July 26, 2012

I’ve begun a new figure drawing. This is based on an old sketch of a model named Tanya who had an interesting bamboo curtain in her studio that we made use of. I’ll be using a wax crayon and oil pastel combination as I demonstrated in my previous posting. This surface is a cold-pressed illustration board.

I’m layering the colors, starting with a light brown, yellow orange, then blue volet. There will likely be more layers yet, but I wanted to show you how I’ve gotten to this point.


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I’m also making use of a commercial wax medium called Dorland’s. It’s a mineral based wax that has a very soft speadable texture. After I sketched out the pencil drawing, I covered the whole surface with a thin layer of this wax medium. While I could have used the crayons directly on the paper itself, coating it first with this medium allows me to scrape down to the white of the paper. Otherwise, the first color applied to the paper won’t remove so easily. It also fixes the pencil to the paper nicely.

One comment

  1. Sultry. Looking forward to the finish.



Leave a Reply

