h1

Illustrating the Five Senses

July 4, 2012

My appologies again for being tardy with regular postings. More interuptions. However, if you’ll also pardon the tease, I do have a good excuse, one that I hope to expose in a couple days for you, so please keep watching.

In the meantime, here’s a couple charming images I had on file that I thought were worth sharing. They are from a German book “Dekorative Vorbilder,” circa 1895, that was a collection of decorative design imagery, cleverly illustrating the five senses.

The originals were in color (watercolor,) but I only have a black and white edition. Some other prints of these can be seen here: *LINK*.

5 comments

  1. These are outstanding, Thanks! Such fine drawing and tone.


  2. Alberto again – I’ve been looking for that illustration of the five senses online, but I can’t find it anywhere – even the link to other illustrations in the series that you included in your email, does not contain it.
    I’d love to know who the artist is, and whether prints are available.


  3. Alberto again – I’ve been looking for that illustration of the five senses online, but I can’t find it anywhere – even the link to other illustrations in the series that you included in your email, does not contain it.
    I’d love to know who the artist is, and whether prints are available…


  4. On the printed pages, which I unfortunately cropped off here, there is the name of Professor G. (George) Sturm. The German title reads “Die Fünf Sinne.” That may help you in your search, Alberto.
    Also, I mistakenly referred to these as watercolors. They’re actually ink wash drawings (“tuschezeichnungen.”)


    • Thankyou very much indeed! 🙂



Leave a Reply

