h1

Drawing Update 3: Greeting a Weary Traveler

June 13, 2012

Not too much more to show this time, but I mainly wanted to upload a better pic than was in the previous post. I’ve gotten the rest of the man’s shirt drawn in.

Two points I’d like to make regarding how I’m working this drawing. First, when trying to reproduce forms such as these, even if not drawing clothing, it helps to imagine these solid forms as though they were woven out of fabric, and I’m drawing the threads. This helps me figure out where the lines go. If you were to drape a sheet of fabric over a chair, you could rotate it in any direction or angle and the threads would still follow the form of the chair. Make your lines behave the same way.

Secondly, I’m benefitted greatly here by using a small quill nib on a large sheet. There’s a lot of space to cover, but I’m able to shade more finely than I would if I were using a larger point. The flexiblility of the nib allows me to vary the thickness of the line where necessary.

2 comments

  1. Wow, this looks Amazing. Looking forward to the final result = )


  2. Unbelievable how life like this is. Great stuff.



Leave a Reply

