h1

The Artist as House Painter

April 29, 2012

When I tell friends lately that I’ve been working on painting a house, I have to follow that with an explanation that this is the kind of one you live in.

For the last few months I’ve been trying to get the property ready to place on the market and it’s involved quite a bit of remodeling including painting the interior. The “professional” painter we hired left us with an unsatisfactory job that I’ve been spending a great deal of time finishing up. She had given us a good price but with sloppy results. Oh well, you get what you pay for.

Unfortunately, one of the things I’ve learned over the years with handling emulsion paints, such as latex house paint, is that it dries at a different value from when it’s wet. In this case the painter had left some areas on the wall unpainted. When I took paint samples to the store that I’d scraped off the windows, the color looked right in the can, but dried a darker shade on the wall. The only way to use that paint as-is would be to repaint the whole wall. Good news is I also had some white, so putting my art training to work I went back and forth a few times with my hand mixtures until I finally got it to dry at the correct shade. The house is now finished and cleaned out. We should be placing up our listing next week.

Leave a Reply

