h1

Carla’s Comforter Painting Update 1

March 8, 2012

Not very much new here due to more business interuptions, but I did want to show that I’m trying out a slight modification to my regular painting process. In this image I’ve painted in the orange comforter and part of the back wall.

How I typically proceed after laying down the undertone is to bring selected areas up to or near compeletion, but this time I’m placing a flat base color in each area. I’ll then come back in another pass with an oilier layer to add more modeling and finishing touches. It’s not necessarily a better method, just different. It does allow me to see the intermediate stage of the whole painting at once, bringing it all up gradually instead of section by section. It also lets me feel like I’m making more progress between all these interuptions.

Leave a Reply

