h1

New Drawing Started: Woman Sitting on a Stool

January 18, 2012

I’ve started a new drawing and have gotten most of the background laid in. It’s based on a photo from my archives of a model sitting on a tall wooden stool. I’m using Yupo film as the drawing surface, following my previous post where I gave a review of this material. It’s 11 x 14 inches. Not much to see right now but this is what I’ve been up to for the last couple of days.

I’m showing it at this early stage mostly unfinished to give a representation of the process I’ve used. The bottom right side shows how I made first one row of lines that were then doubled in another pass. I then went back over it once again to add some more shading. I’ll likely refine it more to make it smoother after I get the figure drawn in. The first pass of lines helped keep the shading even and straight, which was the look I envisioned.

Leave a Reply

