h1

New Drawing: Biker Resting

October 19, 2011


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I’ve been offline too long so it’s about time to show a new drawing I’ve recently started. This one is based on one of my old photographs showing a biker rider resting in a park. It’s drawn on Strathmore illustration board that’s approximately 14×30 inches.

It’s all drawn with a W&N Cotman #4 watercolor brush. You should be able to see a slight pencil sketch of the figure and bike in the detail image that I’m using as a guide. The ink in the grass area has been diluted about 2:1.

The ink I’m using is an old bottle of Osmiroid brown. It’s not pigmented ink but I haven’t noticed any sign of fading in the drawings I’ve made with it. It has a nice red oxide color to it. I haven’t seen any bottles of this in the States in a long time, but I think it’s still sold overseas.

3 comments

  1. This looks good ! Can’t wait to see it completed ! :3
    I’ve always wondered, is it difficult to paint with ink?


  2. I wouldn’t describe it as difficult, but you do need to know what you’re doing. Learning is not difficult, just time consuming. Some people may find it easier than others, which is usually measured by how devoted they are. It also depends on what it is they’re trying to accomplish.


    • Thanks for the information ! I always find interesting to know about other’s work C: Thanks !



Leave a Reply

