h1

Backyard Talk Painting Updated

July 28, 2011

Here’s an update on the new painting I’ve started which I’m tenatively titling “The Backyard Talk.”


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I’ve chosen a size of 16×20 inches based on a piece of hardboard that I had previously primed a few months back with a couple coats of oil primer. The outlines were drawn with a light gray watercolor pencil.

This underpainting is a thin layer of oil paint in rough neutral color complements to the top layers I plan on adding next. My approach towards underpainting is not one that’s concerned with precision as it is with just trying to loosely get the ball rolling . A rough sketch if you will, but one that is based on some care and thoughtful preliminary work beforehand. I always want feel flexible enough to change things at this stage.

Leave a Reply

