h1

Self Portraits by Favorite Artists

March 16, 2011

I’ve been putting out a good deal of effort lately on marketing my work, and it feels like trying to make my way through a thicket with child-safe scissors. I’m hoping to get rid of some of the inventory of work that’s starting to back up around here. Some good connections have been made but no sales results as of yet.

As I start to get back into production work, in the meantime here are a few self portraits of some of my favorite artists I hope you will enjoy viewing. Perhaps there are a few you’ve not seen before.

Cecilia Beaux


Francisco De Goya

Ferdinand Holder


Edward Hopper


Louis Boilly


Berthe Morisot


Rembrandt van Rijn


William Chase

3 comments

  1. Hi David;

    Thanks for these images. It’s interesting how one forms an idea of how a painter looks from just looking at their paintings. Nutty eh? I know that Cecelia Beaux was a great pastelists, but I can’t find a library book on her for love nor money.

    And even Edward Hopper was a surprise. I don’t know what I was expecting, but I love his paintings.

    I didn’t know about the artist Boilly…what a terrible affliction he must have suffered from; anyway you’ve once again sparked my interest and I’m going to see if I can get a book of his works from my library.

    I’m also most impressed by your works on the girls in the park. You’re a really good writer/teacher as well as a painter. What a rare combination; thank you again for putting these posts online.

    Nancy


  2. Thank you, Nancy.

    I’ve been not prone to dig too deep into the personalities of most of my favorite artists. Many of them would likely not be people I’d like to know.


  3. Yes – we might be in for a few nasty surprises eh?
    And of course my library doesn’t have a book on Boilly. So it goes…



Leave a Reply

