h1

New Gouache Painting Started: Cafe Tables

August 27, 2010

This is the early stage of a new gouache painting. Here you’re seeing the undertone wash on the bottom and the top section fully painted. It’s 11 x 14 inches and I’m using polyester fabric again as my ground.


Detail of painting


.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I’m testing out polycarbonate plastic this time as a new backing support, instead of hardboard. This is much lighter in weight. I was uncertain how acidic it might be, so I glued some rag paper to it first, and then glued the fabric on top of that. I drew a line drawing for the painting in pencil on the paper, and I can see it through the fabric. The glue I’m using is an acid-free “High Performance” spray made by Loctite. It works well but is awkward to handle when gluing large pieces of fabric.

Leave a Reply

