h1

New Painting Started: Shakespeare in the Park

July 14, 2010

I’ve finally got a new painting started. I hope I remember how it’s done. This is just the first step with undertone shading before being painted.

Preliminary undertone inks

This is based on an extremely low-res photo I shot with a borrowed cell phone taken many years ago. It’s of a crowd of people watching a performance of Shakespeare’s “As You Like It” somewhere in downtown LA.

The size is 20×16 inches. It’s on a polyester fabic that I’ve toned with sepia and blue inks. The fabric was mounted to untempered hardboard with an acrylic gel. I expect the painting will be in casein. The image may seem a bit dark and gray, but that’s actually how it looks right now. It’ll sharpen up once I start applying paint.

2 comments

  1. That’s an ambitious painting! I really like it, and it’s pretty cool the way it is now.


    • Thanks, Leslie. I had thought to make it larger but this should work out comfortably.



Leave a Reply

