h1

Frank Frazetta; Rest In Peace

May 10, 2010

The book above is the very first one I ever bought, new on the shelves in 1966. The reason I bought it was because of the cover. I had no idea who the character was at the time, but I am convinced his resurection was 100% due to the series of covers Frank Frazetta made for them. The inside credits was the first time I had ever seen his name, and I voraciously hunted down everything I could find by him. Fortunately for me, this was a time of Frazetta’s own resurection in print, and he hit the shelves with power that has not been equalled since, becoming a major influence upon artists around the world.

Sadly, news has come today that this artist legend has passed away from a stroke. I am heartbroken and literally in tears as I write this, but promise to infuse my work with the same energy today as I felt on the first day I found him. Thank you, sir, for everything.

Leave a Reply

