h1

New Strap Clamp for Making Frames

April 26, 2010

My rachet strap clamp became a problem to use while putting together more frames. The strap got bunched into the rachet mechanism and wouldn’t budge, so I was in the market for a replacement. I found this strap clamp made by Bessy Tools at the local hardware store.


It’s very simple to use. You turn the crank to pull the strap and turn the handle to tighten it further. Those “C” shaped plastic grips at the corners keep them clear from the glue. That metal clip on the strap was interefering with the grips on small frames less than @ 9×12″. It wasn’t described in the manual how to fix that, but I think if I take the cover off and re-thread the strap I can move that further out if I need to. Otherwise it works fine.

Leave a Reply

