h1

Cloning a PC Hard Drive: Revisited

April 20, 2010

A little over a year ago I made a post here about cloning a PC hard drive as part of my regular back up procedure. A problem I had this morning demonstrated the benefit of that procedure.

Bad display screen


Correctly displayed screen

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
When I booted up the PC this morning the screen display had somehow gotten all screwed up (see image on above left.) My neutral green wallpaper was bright orange, and the menus were all blown out in bright white. Nothing I tried would restore the view to the proper settings (screen on the right.) It looked to be a driver problem, but updating that didn’t help. Wasn’t a problem with the monitor, cable, or graphics card. I decided to fix it by just replacing this hard drive with a cloned drive I had made (unfortunately two months ago,) and rebooted the machine, which gave me the correct display settings saved at the time the clone was made.

I had to restore a few things on the old drive that had been automatically updated on the newer one since the last backup, such as Norton files and Windows updates, as well as transferring emails and Favorites I had saved since then. Took a couple of hours of going back and forth, but now everything is as it should be. Back ups are good.

Still unsure what caused the display problem, which bugs me. It might easily happen again, so I’d like to know how to fix it more simply. If anyone has input to share, I’d appreciate the comments. Now I plan on making a clone of this drive onto the one that had the display problem, just in case…

Leave a Reply

