h1

Garden Path Drawing Update 3

January 12, 2009
Drawing Update 3

Drawing Update 3

I’ve made more progress on the drawing. I’m including another closeup, this time showing how I’ve been doing the grass and leaves. I roughly sketch out shapes and then go back and fill them in with lines of different direction and spacing or thickness.

Lower Left Corner

Lower Left Corner

The wash is prepared in three tones of gray. I start with the lighter tones first, then a darker, and fill in with a midtone. The three values keep me from building up with one value and using too much water which might destroy my lines. An alternative method is to lay the wash down first and draw over it, but I think the pen draws better on a surface that hasn’t been wet. That’s less a problem if my drawing is made with a brush or marker.

Leave a Reply

