h1

New Oil Painting: Serving Tea

November 6, 2008

It’s time to get back to painting, so here’s one I’ve just started. It’s based on a sketch I made a few years ago of a couple friends having brunch. You can see here a scan of the sketch made with a writing pen. Next is a rough digital color study of that scan to decide what the colors will be.

Original Sketch

Original Sketch

 

Color Study

Color Study

Lastly I’m posting the beginning stage of the painting itself in complementary undertones (or as I like to call them: “my blue people.”) This is 12 x 9 inches on stretched canvas with oils mixed with a little methylcellulose. Notice that I added the dark shape of a sofa on the far left. I felt it compressed the composition a bit more instead of all that open space in the original sketch.

Undertone Painting

Undertone Painting

It’s been drying overnight and is ready for more paint. My “vision” for this one is to keep the paint application more lose than how I usually work, much like it looks now but thicker. I’ll have to resist my inclination to add small details, especially with their faces and hands. We’ll see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

