h1

Brownie Camera Photos

October 24, 2008

Digging through some archived photos I pulled out a few that I haven’t seen in awhile. I made these using an old Brownie Target Six-20 model camera, when I was approximately six years old. I hesitate to say if I’ve ever shot anything better. My mother recently said she’s seen this camera somewhere at her home in storage, so I’ll have to hunt for it next time I visit her. Some of them on the web go for as little as $10-20 and the film is still available too.

The camera was marvelous in its simplicity with a fixed lens and point-and-shoot operation. One curious feature was you could hold it horizontally and look through a viewfinder on the side as well as one on the top. I also seem to recall having a printing kit for developing the film, but I don’t know what became of that. I even still have some of the negatives, which these images are directly shot from using my light-table.

Neighbor with BB-Gun

Neighbor with BB-Gun

Cowgirl

Cowgirl

Parents

Parents

Attention!

Attention!

It’s amusing that so many of the portraits have the top of their heads cropped, but give me a break. I was only about four feet tall at the time.

One comment

  1. […] find an old friend burried in my mother’s closet – my Brownie Target Six-20 camera. I wrote a post about this a few years ago, and thought I had lost it for good. It warmed my heart to see it again. Thanks for […]



Leave a Reply

